Tease and Texture

One of the blogs I love the most is the smallthingsblog.com, I have a huge girl crush on the owner and her posts are amazing. About 2 months ago she posted a tutorial in which she used texture powder on her hair. It was like magic, she shook some powder on her roots and fluffed it up and voila she had hair 4 times the size as before. Coming from a girl who basically has 6 strands of hair I was beyond amazed. So I started my hunt (since she lives in the states most products she uses are not offered any where close to wear I live.) I checked drug store and found nothing. So I went to a professional hair product providers and hit jackpot, each brand had it’s own line of texture products and texture powders, the downside, the cheapest one was 18$. Let’s get one thing straight I only work part time so spending 18$ on a salt shaker size bottle of texture powder that I wasn’t sure I was going to like was not worth it. So I left the store empty handed. About a month after that I was at Walmart looking for my leave in conditioner and came across got 2b POWDER’ful Volumizing Styling powder for 4$!
IMG_0728.JPG
What a bargain, I couldn’t believe it, I basically ran to the check out line. I got home and tried it out and I’m sure it doesn’t compare to the high end products but for 4$ it’s amazing. Not only does it add tones of volume is also adds a good grit to your hair which makes styling updos much easier because your hair doesn’t just slid out of your bobby pins or elastics. I tend to use the volumizing powder when I wear my hair straight just to add a little lift to the roots, since my hair is so thin and flat.

So here is my hair teased without the texture powder

IMG_0699-0.JPG

And here is my hair teased with the texture powder

IMG_0700-0.JPG

If you work the powder into your roots and use a comb to tease this is what it can do!

IMG_0701-0.JPG
this is obviously a bit excessive so I tamed it down and here is the final before and after.

IMG_0179.JPG

Leave a Reply

