Soup to Sauce

When I started this blog I thought I would have way more free time to post things but it seems whenever I do have a free minute I don’t have my iPad on me. Anyways, I’ve been really busy with work lately, which is nice but also very tiring. Last week I took Tuesday afternoon off and made some sun dried tomato soup from scratch. As I was making it I remembered that my dad had said it would make really good pasta sauce, so I decided to give it a try.

I ate some of the soup as soon as it was ready and had a bit left over in my bowl. I decided to add some bacon to it because I thought the saltiness would go really nicely with the tang of the tomatoes. So I fried up 4 slices of turkey bacon and placed them to the side. While my penne was boiling I melted some margarine in the pan. Once it was melted I sprinkled about a teaspoon of flour into it to make a roux. Then I added the rest of my bowl of soup and let it come to a simmer. Once the sauce was thick enough I added my chopped bacon to it, strained my noodles and tossed it all together. I saved a piece of bacon to top it off with.

IMG_0193.JPG
The pasta was delicious, tangy, slaty and creamy. If I had some lactose free cheese I would have sprinkled some on top but it was perfect as is.

I think this could be done with a variety of creamy soups. It would be nice to try it with a mushroom soup, even butternut squash soup would be nice over some ravioli.

Share with me your soup to sauce creations!

One thought on “Soup to Sauce

Leave a Reply

