Sweet Onion and Acorn Squash Soup 

With fall coming to an end and winter approaching I find this one of the best times to enjoy a nice warm bowl of soup. I had some acorn squash sitting around and decided to make a soup that I had made before that turned out very delicious. I don’t like following recipes so I did it off the top of my head, it wasn’t as amazing as it was last time but it was still pretty delicious. 

What you will need 

2 medium  size acorn squash 

2 small-medium yellow onions

1 clove of garlic 

1 carton of vegtable or chicken stock

balsamic vinegar

White wine

maple syrup 

olive oil 

and some of your favourite spices (I used nutmeg, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, oregano and salt and peper) 

you will also need an emulsion blender 

First things first, you will need to roast your sqash. Start by cutting your squash in half and then seasoning them with the spices you have chosen. On a baking sheet, drizzle some olive oil and then place your squash flesh side down. Then take your balsamic vinegar and drizzle it over the skin side of your squash. Roast it in the oven at 350 for about an hour or until you can easily pierce it with a fork. Once your squash is cooked, turn it over and poor about a tablespoon of maple syrup over the flesh of your squash and let it cool.  

    
 Once your squash is cool (I let me cool overight because I was busy and didn’t have time to finish the soup) use a spoon to scrape out the flesh.  

 In a pot drizzle some olive oil and let your pan warm up, we want to caramalize the onions so a hot pot is helpful. Slice your onions and chop your garlic, once the pan is hot, throw your onion and garlic in and salt and pepper to taste. Once your, onions have turned a nice golden brown you’re going to want to add a splash of balsamic vinegar and a splash of white wine. This adds an great tangy flavour to the soup. Be careful not too add too much balsamic as it can get very bitter. When the wine and vinegar have mostly cooked off add the box of stock to your pot. Let the stock simmer for a few minutes and then add in your squash. Once all your ingredients are in the pot cover it and let it simmer for about half and hour.  

    
 Once your soup has simmered for about  half an hour your going to remove it from the heat and use an emulsion blender to purée your soup. Make sure you taste your soup after, I found that I needed to add a splash of balsamic and a spash of maple syrup, I also found it a bit thick, to fix this you could add some more stock or my choice would be to add some coconut milk (which I didn’t have any of :().  

   
***I stupidly forgot to take a picture once the soup was finished, but hopefully you get the point. 

This soup is creamy, salty, sweet, tangy…. and so full of flavour. Let me know if you give this recipe a try!   

Leave a Reply

