Up’in The Steaks 

I was SO sick of chicken (I think I had it for dinner 6 days in a row) that I went out and bought some top sirloin streaks for me and Other. They turned out so amazing that I wanted to share the process with you. 

First things first, I cut three large golden potatoes into wedges using my crinkle cutter. I seasoned them with garlic infused olive oil, dried onion, paprika and kosher salt, mixed them all up to make sure the flavour was all over them. Placed them on my stoneware baking sheet and threw them in the oven at 375 for about 40 minutes, flipping them a couple times.

For the steaks I let them come to room temperature and seasoned them with a decent amount of kosher salt and pepper. Then I poked three holes in the steak with a sharp knife and placed a small sliver of garlic in each one, I also rubbed the garlic over the top of the steak. I cut about half of a small onion into a few big chunks and got some parsley and rosemary and roughly cut it.  

 In a very hot skillet (cast iron if you have it) I added a large piece of butter or margarine and let it melt down. Then I added my onions, garlic, parsley and rosemary and let them become fragrant. Once the pan was SUPER hot I added in my steaks. I let each side brown up for about 4-6 minutes on each side. Me and Other like our steaks pretty well done so to finish off the process I put the whole pan into the oven while the potatoes finished cooking. 

I steamed some asparagus and drizzled the garlic olive oil over them. I also made a really quick spicy mayo to dip the wedges in.  

 The meat was so flavourful and tender, I don’t know if it was the cut of meat or the cooking process but it was so delicious.  

Leave a Reply

