All About Nails: can you put shellac over regular polish? 

Answer: Well sorta 

Happy Easter readers! Here is a bonus special Easter post!

Recently I bought a Kiss Cosmetics Gel Nail Kit and have been experimenting with it over the past couple weeks. I will eventually do a full review but wanted to give it a few tries before doing so. 

Since I just bought it my colour selection is limited, I only brought a very light pink (almost translucent) and a black, as well as, a French nail kit. I wanted to paint my nails a bit more of a fun colour so I decided to try and put normal polish with a top coat of shellac. Here’s what the verdict is :

It worked, well sorta! If you are going to do this you have to be patient (which SURPRISE! I’m not). Because, you have to wait for your regular slow drying nail polish to be 1000% dry, like probably over night dry. If you don’t do this…. Something mildly terrible will happen. The shellac top coat will make the nail polish under it bubble like so :  

 
As you can see the pointer and ring finger bubbled quite a lot, and the pinky and ring finger that were more dry didn’t as much. 

I don’t really care that much because from far away you can’t really tell and it took me over an hour to do my nails so I’m not about to take that shit off.  

 However I learned my lesson for next time, either buy more colours or be more patient. 

I’m interested to see how long this last, regular nail polish normally doesn’t stick to my nails very well so I’m hoping this will help. I’m also going to try and fix the bubbles at some point this week, I’ll attempted to do so and write another post to keep you up to date. 

Have you ever tried a regular/shellac combo? What are your tips? 

Ps. This nail colour is called Orchid Around by Sally Hansen and I’m kinda obsessed. 

3 thoughts on “All About Nails: can you put shellac over regular polish? 

Leave a Reply

