All About Nails: shellac fix and update

So if you read my previous post you know that my idea of using a regular nail polish and shellac top coat did not go as planned. However, here is how I tried to fix it. 

I decided to try and file down the bubbles and bumps with a buffer and then use a shellac top coat to seal everything up. I’ve used this technique before after a manicure I got at a salon. I had gotten nail studs applied and they fell off a few days after my visit to the salon so I filed down the parts of my nail that were bumpy and applied a shellac top coat! This worked very well so I tried to do the same thing with my botched manicure. 

Here is my nail after filing down the bubbles, you can still see some of the uneven texture but it is much better then it was before.    
After buffing out most of the bumps I used a lint free towelette to wipe off the residue from th buffer. IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not use the alcohol cleaning solution on the nail polish, this seems to be when the bubbling occurs, so simply dust off the residue. 

  Next I applied the shellac top coat and cured it under the uv light for one minute. Apply the cleaning solution after curing to remove the tackiness and shine those babies up. 

As you can see it is not perfect but it is much better then before.  
Here’s the before shot  

 

I’ve had the polish on for four days now and I did a lot of baking a cooking yesterday and the started to chip a little. It’s definitely not as good as professional but it is better then regular nail polish and I like that there is virtually no drying time, more to come in the full review. 

Here’s what they look like on day four after being quite rough with them yesterday.  

  
 

Leave a Reply

