Homemade Fondant 

I hope you all had a lovely Easter. I for sure did, filled with wine, chocolate and lots of food. I spent the entire day Sunday cooking since my family decided to have both a big brunch and dinner for Easter! My tasks for the day were to 

  1. Make waffles 
  2. Make mini egg cupcakes 
  3. Make stuffing 
  4. Make escargot (yes that means snails) 
  5. And clean the kitchen every fine minutes…. 

Had I known I was being voluntold to make all this food I probably wouldn’t have taken it upon my self to try and make fondant from scratch for the cupcakes but I did! And surprisingly it was one of the easiest parts of my day! 

I found the recipe on this lovely blog and her instructions are super clear and easy to follow. Therefore, I was kinda worried it was going to be an epic fail but it wasn’t! 

I decided to make a half batch since I was only making toppings for the cupcakes and not covering an entire cake!

Here’s what you need! 

8 cups of mini marshmallows 

A couple teaspoons of water

Appx 1 kg bag of icing sugar 

Food colouring of your choice. 

*at first I was like there is no way I’m going to need a whole bag of icing sugar for a half batch but YEAH YA DO! 

Step 1: using a double boiler system melt the 8 cups of mini marshmallows, this took about ten minutes and you need to constantly stir the marshmallow to prevent them burning it is also at this point that you add a few teaspoons of water to help the marshmallows become more liquid-ey (I used 2 teaspoons) . You can also put them in the microwave for 30 second intervals but this felt like too much work.  

 Step 2: once melted, remove from heat and add your icing sugar, I added about 3/4 of the bag and stirred it in, then added the remaining and took the ball out to knead. Make sure that you put some sugar down on your counter before you start kneading or it will stick like crazy!  I also had to add more sugar as I went to prevent it from sticking. 

   
Ps. Kneading the fondant is actually such a rewarding process because the “dough” becomes basically like playdough and it’s super fun.  

 Step 3: add your colour. I was making little bunny ears so I made one ball of pink and kept one ball white. 

Step 4: roll out your dough. I have yet to make a cake covered in fondant but here’s how I made my ears. Roll your dough to about 1/4 inch thick and then use cookie cutters or free hand to cut out your shapes. I used a carrot shape to make the ears and cut off the bottoms to make them look like ears.  

 

Step 5: make your shapes. I made he pink stick to the white by simply putting a little bit of water in the back of the pink and letting it dry onto the white. To apply the ears to the cupcakes themselves I used a little dollop of butter cream to hold them in place. 

   
   
Et voila! My little bunny cupcakes! Ps they were delicious and had mini eggs in them!  

Side note: since the fondant is made of icing sugar and marshmallows it actually tastes pretty delicious unlike store bought fondant! 

 

Leave a Reply

