How to take shellac off without damaging your nails. 

I know my posts have been heavy on the nail content but I promise I have some non-nail related posts coming soon. 

This post is brought to you by the fact that I’m too cheap to go get my shellac taken off by the professionals, so here is how I do it at home! 

You will need

Cotton balls or pads 

Scissors 

Acetone based nail polish remover 

Tinfoil 

A cuticle pusher (metal works best)

Some cuticle oil and repairing nail polish 

  

How to:

Step 1. Cut your cotton pads or ball so it fits on your nail.  Also take this time to cut your tinfoil into small squares 

 

  Step 2. Soak the cotton in the nail polish remover so that it is soaks through.   

    

Step 3.
I like to do one hand at a time because it’s impossible to do anything when you have tin foil on your fingers. Place the cotton pads on your nail and wrap it in tin foil to keep it in place.  

 My finger nails are safe from the aliens

Step 4. Wait 10 minutes or until polish starts to peel away from your nail.  

 Step 5. Using your cuticle pusher, gently scrape the polish away. If any areas are problematic repeat step 3 and 4.  

   

Step 6
. Wash your hands to remove any flakes of polish, then apply a moisturizing cuticle oil. The acetone is very drying, your nails will need some hydration. I like this one by Nicole O.P.I (I can’t find it online but I got it at Walmart) because it has a brush on the end so you can apply the oil all over your nail.  

 Step 7. OPTIONAL: wash your hands again to remove the oil and apply a clear repairing nail polish. This will help restore your nails and strengthen them to help with growth.  

 There you go! I hope I saved you a couple dollars, it’s quick and easy once you get the hang of it. 

One thought on “How to take shellac off without damaging your nails. 

Leave a comment